Correlation Engine 2.0
Clear Search sequence regions

Sizes of these terms reflect their relevance to your search.

Sixteen eukaryotic DNA polymerases have been identified and studied so far. Based on the sequence similarity of the catalytic subunits of DNA polymerases, these have been classified into four A, B, X and Y families except PrimPol, which belongs to the AEP family. The quaternary structure of these polymerases also varies depending upon whether they are composed of one or more subunits. Therefore, in this review, we used a quaternary structure-based classification approach to group DNA polymerases as either monomeric or multimeric and highlighted functional significance of their accessory subunits. Additionally, we have briefly summarized various DNA polymerase discoveries from a historical perspective, emphasized unique catalytic mechanism of each DNA polymerase and highlighted recent advances in understanding their cellular functions.


Narottam Acharya, Prashant Khandagale, Shweta Thakur, Jugal Kishor Sahu, Bhabasha Gyanadeep Utkalaja. Quaternary structural diversity in eukaryotic DNA polymerases: monomeric to multimeric form. Current genetics. 2020 Aug;66(4):635-655

Expand section icon Mesh Tags

Expand section icon Substances

PMID: 32236653

View Full Text