Correlation Engine 2.0
Clear Search sequence regions

  • angiosperms (2)
  • pistil (1)
  • plant (3)
  • plant proteins (2)
  • pollen (2)
  • research (1)
  • self (9)
  • Sizes of these terms reflect their relevance to your search.

    As an intraspecific outcrossing mechanism, self-incompatibility (SI) widely adopted by hermaphroditic plants is usually controlled by a polymorphic multi-allelic S locus. Typically, six molecular types of SI have been found, including type-I controlled by the pistil S S-RNase and pollen S SLFs commonly spread in Plantaginaceae, Solanaceae, Rosaceae and Rutaceae, type-II by SRK and SCR in Brassicaceae, type-III by PrsS and PrpS in Papaveraceae, type-IV by CYP-GLO2-KFB-CCM-PUM in Primulaceae, type-V by TsSPH1-TsYUC6-TsBAHD in Turneraceae and type-VI by HPS10-S and DUF247I-S in Poaceae, with type-I characterized as a non-self recognition system but types-II, -III and -VI self ones. Furthermore, remarkable progresses have been made in their origin and evolutionary mechanisms recently. Among them, type-I SI possessed a single origin in the most recent common ancestor of eudicots and types II-V dynamically evolved following its losses, while type-VI SI exclusively existed in monocot Poaceae may be regained after the loss of the ancient type-I. Here, we mainly review the molecular and evolutionary mechanisms of angiosperm SI systems, thus providing a helpful reference for their theoretical research and breeding application.


    Zhao Hong, Xue Yong-Biao. Molecular and evolutionary mechanisms of self-incompatibility in angiosperms. Yi chuan = Hereditas. 2024 Jan 20;46(1):3-17

    Expand section icon Mesh Tags

    Expand section icon Substances

    PMID: 38230453

    View Full Text